Application Process to Fill Position 3 Vacancy

The Board of Trustees accepted the resignation of Board Member, Position 3, Jennifer Kline at the June 1, 2020 Board Meeting. At the July 20, 2020 Board Meeting the Board of Trustees unanimously approved to convene an equitable and thorough vetting process for appointing a Trustee to Position 3. The appointed board member's term will expire in May 2021. Should the appointed board member be interested in continued service, it will be necessary for them to file and run for election in May 2021 to complete the remainder of the Position 3 term. The normal election cycle for Position 3 will be held in the May 2022 election.
All interested candidates are encouraged to review and complete the Application for Appointment to Position 3 of the Lovejoy Independent School District Board of Trustees. The application includes listing five references. Letters of reference are highly encouraged to be included with the application. The completed application and accompanying documents must be returned to:
Stacey Dillon
Lovejoy ISD Administration Building
259 Country Club Road
Allen, Texas
by 5:00 PM on Friday, August 7, 2020. You may reach Stacey at 469.742.8003.
Please click here to access the application.
Board of Trustees Terms
The Lovejoy Independent School District Board of Trustees consists of seven trustees, serving terms of three years, with elections held annually.  The terms of one-third of the Trustees, or as near to one-third as possible, expire each year.  Education Code 11.051(b), 11.059. 
2020 - Position 4 - Anne Smith, Position 5 - Matt Gournay
2021 - Position 6 - Al Litchenburg, Position 7 - Barrett Owens*
2022 - Position 1 - Chad Collins, Position 2 - Amy Smith, Position 3 - Vacant*
*The Lovejoy ISD Board of Trustees appointed Barrett Owens to fill the unexpired term of Position 7. As an appointed seat, this position will expire on Tuesday, November 3, 2020. Additionally, the regular term of Position 7 will expire in May 2021.
*An appointed Position 3 term will expire in May 2021. Additionally, the regular term of Position 3 will expire in May 2022.