Placeholder text, please change


Lovejoy ISD Dyslexia  

Lovejoy I.S.D. dyslexia services are based on prescriptive Orton-Gillingham programs.  These programs address the five essential components of reading with direct, intensive and explicit instruction using multi-sensory techniques in learning the code of sounds and letters.  Multi-sensory learning offers children opportunities to learn through seeing, hearing, and touching.  In addition, these programs utilize repetition to secure concepts of reading and spelling.  Orton-Gillingham programs are scientifically research based.

Lovejoy I.S.D. students receive protection under Section 504* with an Accommodation Plan or IDEA** with an Individualized Educational Plan (IEP).

Decisions regarding these students will be made by either a Section 504 Committee or an ARD Committee, which include parents and knowledgeable school personnel.

*Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973

**Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)

Five Essential Components of Reading 
  1. Phonemic Awareness - knowledge and manipulation of sounds in spoken words
  2. Phonics - relationship between written and spoken letters and sounds
  3. Reading fluency, including oral reading skills - ability to read with accuracy, and with appropriate rate, expression, and phrasing
  4. Vocabulary development -  knowledge of words, their definitions, and context
  5. Reading comprehension strategies - understanding of meaning in text